Huineng and the Platform Sutra

Led by Roshi Paul Kisho Stern

Dates/Times
MONDAYS: August 3, 10, 17, 24
7-8 pm ET, 6-7 pm CT, 5-6 pm MT, 4-5 pm PT

The Platform Sutra was composed in China sometime between the 8th and 13th Centuries and includes stories and teachings attributed to the 6th Zen Patriarch, Huineng. Exploration of themes presented within this Sutra as well as the nature of Huineng and his role in establishing Zen will be explored within this course.

Several key ideas presented in this work such as dealing with direct perception of true nature and the interconnections and interdependence of sila, dhayana, and prajna will be explored through application in practice taking place between scheduled courses.

Recorded lecture content will be provided during the week prior to each class giving the live class time a more discussion and practice-oriented focus.

Classes meet online for discussion sessions. Discussion sessions will be recorded.

Sign up for our newsletter

Our newsletters and updates will keep you informed of local and regional classes, workshops, and retreats as well as online study opportunities, blogs, information, and inspiration to continue nurturing, healing, and caring for yourself and the world.

We will not share your information with anyone else.

See you soon!

  • This form is protected by the invisible reCAPTCHA process.

Get in Touch with Us

Ask us questions. Share ideas.

Set up a time to meet with us. Tell us your story.

  • This form is protected by the invisible reCAPTCHA process.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.